Moulding worshippers out of our children

Are we being examples to our children on how to praise/worship?

I’m not into forcing my kids to raise their hands, or do anything they don’t fully understand at home or church. But I do pray often that they would learn by my example and choose for themselves what they will do. So I have started being an in-public worshipper, as opposed to just quiet devotion times worshipper. An uninhibited God- lover and praiser in my lounge, every morning, while they play. From Planetshakers to Psalty, I sing it, I dance, shout, cry and they dance with me, draw on things they shouldn’t, or climb onto the table and tear up printer paper. Whatever. I pray they will absorb my habits, my passion for God and choose to follow when they are ready and old enough to understand.

God, make worshippers out of my children, let them learn from my example,  raise them up to be passionate for you, break their hearts for what breaks yours.

Grace, my 22 month old, gets into bed most evenings and puts her hands up and sings Psalty’s  ‘I love you.’ THE cutest thing to listen to. Ethan, my 3 year old, went to bed feeling sick the other day, and came out ten minutes later and announced,”I’m better, Jesus loves me. Jesus made me better’ He strung that logic together all by himself and MAN was I proud, and totally humbled at how powerful an example we really are. How he got to that sentence I do not know, whether it was from singing Jesus loves me a thousand times at bedtime for 2 years, or following how we prayed for dad’s beesting to be healed, Im not sure, but I do know that they learn and copy, and it excites and inspires me to be a better mother.

Leave a comment